Intro to Zodiac Signs


​One of the single most basic parts of astrology is the thing that probably everyone starts with – the Zodiac signs! Many are familiar with Zodiac signs when it comes to their horoscopes. This correlates to your Sun sign, the Zodiac sign the Sun was in when you were born. But there are the ten planets who are in their own signs, the 12 houses who are in their own signs, thousands of asteroids in their own signs, and more!

What are the Zodiac signs in astrology?

There are 12 Zodiac signs in astrology. In order, they are:


Each Zodiac sign builds on the previous sign, so each sign comes with the lessons learned of the signs before it. The final sign, Pisces, is seen as knowing all experience as a result, while the first sign, Aries, is seen as the newborn of the Zodiac. 

Each sign has an opposite sign with similar yet opposite energy. The opposing signs are:

Aries opposes Libra
Taurus opposes Scorpio
Gemini opposes Sagittarius
Cancer opposes Capricorn
Leo opposes Aquarius
Virgo opposes Pisces

How are the Zodiac signs split up?

There are two ways that the Zodiac signs are split up: by element and by quality (or modality). By element, they are:

Fire: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius
Earth: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn
Air: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius
Water: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

By quality, they are:

Cardinal: Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn
Fixed: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius
Mutable: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces

The Elements & the Zodiac Signs

Zodiac signs of the same element have a natural base energy that’s the same. They’re highly compatible, so this is a big part of relationship astrology to gauge compatibility. 

The fire signs are highly energized, enthusiastic, and creative. The earth signs are highly practical, productive, and stable. The air signs are highly sociable, intellectual, and diplomatic. The water signs are highly emotional, intuitive, and nurturing.

The Qualities & the Zodiac Signs

Zodiac signs of the same quality also have some base energy that’s the same, but there’s usually more friction involved. Signs of the same element have a natural ease and harmony between them. Signs of the same quality can have more heat, but also butt heads.

Cardinal signs are the ones who take action. Fixed signs are the ones who keep things going. Mutable signs are the ones who adapt.

Zodiac Signs & the Planets & Houses

Each Zodiac sign has a natural ruling planet, and a house that it naturally connects to. They are:

Aries: ruled by Mars, connects to the 1st house of the self
Taurus: ruled by Venus, connects to the 2nd house of money
Gemini: ruled by Mercury, connects to the 3rd house of the mind
Cancer: ruled by the Moon, connects to the 4th house of home/family and emotion
Leo: ruled by the Sun, connects to the 5th house of love and creativity
Virgo: ruled by Mercury, connects to the 6th house of work, health, and daily life
Libra: ruled by Venus, connects to the 7th house of relationships
Scorpio: ruled by Pluto, connects to the 8th house of transformations and shared resources
Sagittarius: ruled by Jupiter, connects to the 9th house of expansion and higher learning
Capricorn: ruled by Saturn, connects to the 10th house of goals and direction
Aquarius: ruled by Uranus, connects to the 11th house of friends and dreams
Pisces: ruled by Neptune, connects to the 12th house of spirituality and endings

How the Zodiac Signs Build on One Another

Aries is the first sign, and is the astrological newborn. This makes Aries the sign that wants to take initiative and get things started. Aries has lots of energy as a fire and cardinal sign. It can be impulsive and impatient, but also pioneering.

Taurus is the second sign, and has learned patience that Aries lacked. Whatever Taurus starts, it wants to finish once it does. Taurus takes its time, not feeling the rush. Taurus is highly grounded as an earth and fixed sign. It can be stubborn and stuck, but also sensual.

Gemini is the third sign, and has moved from action and being in the body to focusing on the mind. Gemini wants to come up with ideas and plans. Gemini sees the value in social connection and engagement. It can be scattered and anxious, but also adaptable.

Cancer is the fourth sign, and has moved from the mind to emotions. Cancer wants to give and receive emotional stability and security, nurturing and encouragement. It can be subjective and sensitive, but also understanding.

Leo is the fifth sign, and is okay with emotion, but wants to focus on the positives with it. Leo is highly creative, and can express itself through creativity and be seen and heard. Leo wants love and affection. It can be selfish and dramatic, but also sweet.

Virgo is the sixth sign, and moves from play to work. Virgo wants to get things done and tackle the details. Virgo sees daily life, and understands what must be done. It can be anxious and timid, but also productive.

Libra is the seventh sign, and moves from work to relationships. Libra wants to come together, to compromise and mediate. Libra wants balance and equality and fairness. It can be superficial and flighty, but also just.

Scorpio is the eighth sign, and wants to deepen those relationships. Scorpio wants everything to be intense and passionate, and won’t settle. Scorpio craves intimacy and wants to transform for the better. It can be obsessive and demanding, but also loyal.

Sagittarius it the ninth sign, and it wants to let loose. Sagittarius wants space to roam, to explore, to experience life on its own terms. Sagittarius is an eternal student of life. It can be a runner and all talk, but also a great teacher.

Capricorn is the tenth sign, and it wants to clamp down and make progress. Capricorn has goals it wants to achieve and milestones it wants to hit. It has a plan, it has a focus, and it has direction. It can be distant and overly-ambitious, but also responsible.

Aquarius is the eleventh sign, and it wants to go from the traditional to the unconventional. It wants to break the status quo and push toward the future. Aquarius doesn’t want to be boxed in. Aquarius has big dreams. It can be aloof and out of touch, but also independent.

Pisces is the twelfth and last sign, so it wants to ascend into the spiritual. Pisces understands all emotion and experience intuitively, and can be ultra compassionate. Pisces is imaginative. It can be sacrificing and self-sabotaging, but also inspired.

Want to start your healing journey with astrology? Sign up for the Heal Your Soul Checklist and learn 9 astrology positions to start using for healing and growth now!

The Dark Pixie Astrology

(you’ll also be signed up for the newsletter and get extra astro tidbits + pixie dust in your inbox each week)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

FREE Manifestation Training!